Designer Spotlight:Tuleh

19 Feb

I was so excited for fashion week until I actually saw the clothing. No disrespect but it was kind of…DRAB. I would think during economic hardships, people would want some cheerful color in their lives. I know I do.

Imagine my excitement over Bryan Bradley’s fall collection for Tuleh. Launched in 1998, Tuleh was always a go to label amoungst the UES fashion clique. The pieces are lady-like sophistication mixed with a bit of downtown campy edge.

Bradley has been referred to as one of the most “colorful American designers” according to New York magazine and rumor has it that he is an impressive literature buff.

Bryan Bradley;creative director of Tuleh. (nymag.com)

Bryan Bradley;creative director of Tuleh. (nymag.com)

 I’ve always been a fan. I actually remember doing a project on Tuleh as a freshman in college, so obviously the connection is a bit personal. I love Bradley’s use of leopard,pastels,fur and florals. They never look tacky. Instead, the above elements are paired with red lipstick and sent on their way.

Some favorite looks from over the years:

Fall 2004: By far, my favorite Tuleh collection ever!

Fall 2004: By far, my favorite Tuleh collection ever!

 

Spring 2008

Spring 2008

Fall 2008: Leopard!

Fall 2008: Leopard!

Resort 2009: I could picture myself wearing this in NYC with tights or to dinner by the beach in Cali.

Resort 2009: I could picture myself wearing this in NYC with tights or to dinner by the beach in Cali.

Spring 2009: I love the pants!

Spring 2009: I love the pants!

 

 

Pre-Fall 2009: This dress is a work of art.

Pre-Fall 2009: This dress is a work of art.

Brian has his hands full. He is developing his own diffusion line,an interiors collection (note the gorgeous rug on the Fall ’09 runway in the following pics) as well as an accessories collection.

Here are my picks from his fall runway show:

I always loved Tuleh's use of leopard. The fact that the print is paired with a men's style button down is very interesting.

I always loved Tuleh's use of leopard. The fact that the print is paired with a men's style button down is very interesting.

Polka dots with fur...whether faux or real...is very Minnie Mouse luxe.

Polka dots with fur...whether faux or real...is very Minnie Mouse luxe.

 

I love this dress!

I love this dress!

The coat is so killer!

The coat is so killer!

So, the beauty of this collection is the mix of sophistication and playfulness. So RGRS!!! What do you think of Tuleh?

Photos: Style.com

Leave a Reply

