Yves Saint Laurent: My Patron Saint

9 Feb

I’ve always loved Yves Saint Laurent. In college, I did not one, but two huge term projects on him (one was for CAD and the other was for Power of the Brand, if anyone was wondering). I just loved his aesthetic. He was really one of a kind.

Stefano Pilati, current creative director of YSL, is one of a kind as well. I’ve always loved what he was doing for the house but I felt that everything in last spring’s collection was a little too masculine for my taste. This spring’s collection really spoke to me, in the language of cherries, ruffles and delectable waist cinchers.

Here are my top picks from the collection and cool ways to wear them on a budget:

Spring ’10 RTW:

Black and gold is a regal color combination. It's also very inexpensive.Chain stores carry black pieces for as little as a couple of dollars and unique gold tone jewelry can be found anywhere.

I've been buying cherry prints since high school and I still love them. Keep them sophisticated with an elegant belt and a beautiful pair of heels.

I'm in love with this skirt. This is a great color to wear, whether you are tan or fair-skinned. It brightens up your face or in the case of this skirt, your mood!

While everyone wears pastels this spring, shock the onlookers with jewel-toned green.

Shifts are no longer boring. Simply rough them up a bit with a cool looking scarf.

Ruffled tops are all over the place this spring. Pair them with a cool pant so you don't look like a Madame Alexander doll.

Anything off the shoulder is really glamorous but a long black boho dress is just spectacular.

I probably wouldn't do a skirt like this but more power to you if you can pull it off. If you just want a taste of the fruit trend, make use of stud earrings , fun belts or clutches. H&M currently has a clutch shaped like a watermelon.

All Photos: Style.com

Leave a Reply

