Summer Trend: “Leisure Life” Swimwear

16 Jun

Lanvin Resort 2011

I’ll admit, I don’t really care much about fashion when I go to the beach. I want to get a good tan, relax and enjoy the water. I think it’s unnatural to be overly conscious of how you look but maybe that’s just because the Southern California lifestyle has invaded my brain.

I feel that all changes though when you go somewhere like Europe. Although I haven’t had the fortune to visit St. Tropez, Capri or any other European beach for that matter, I can imagine it being the total opposite of beach blonde Cali girls wearing vintage tees over barely there bikinis.

I imagine jaw dropping one pieces (or jaw dropping two pieces. You pick your poison) that have perfect Grecian draping, gold metallic sandals (read: NOT flip flops), movie star shades, a Missoni caftan and perfectly manicured toes. A dark tan is also a given.

Here are some of my inspirations:

Givenchy 1969

A vintage print. I love old illustrations.

The latest Paris Vogue cover with Kate Moss.

“Leisure Life” Picks:

A Missoni bikini is a jet-set must! Missoni Pechino Knit Bikini, $540, netaporter.com

This cream kaftan goes with everything and makes dressing day to night easy. Diane Von Furstenberg Cut-Out Linen Kaftan, about $330, matchesfashion.com

I have to have this. Goes perfect with peach Bellini . Anthropologie Gleaming Pewter Malliot, $168, anthropologie.com

Leave a Reply

