Rich Girl Recipe: Vanilla Yogurt and Fruit Parfait

24 Aug

I’m not really much of an ice cream eater (unless it’s Haagen Dazs strawberry, but that’s a different story). I’ve always had a special place in my heart for yogurt though. You can ask a few close friends (whose names will not be disclosed) and they will tell you that everytime I’m near a Red Mango, I always go in and order the plain yogurt with strawberries and yogurt chips. It must be a nostalgia thing. A family member used to always make this parfait for special occasions and it changed the way I viewed yogurt forever. I even replicated the recipe for a project at school. In college, one of my professors wanted us to teach the class how to do anything that we were comfortable teaching in front of a large group. I made the parfait because I figured everyone was starving since it was a 9:30 AM class. Now I’m going to teach you.

Personally, I feel the vanilla yogurt chips steal the show. They have a soft yet slightly crunchy texture which plays well with the fruit. The yogurt is a great base because you can really play around with this dish and NOT screw it up:

What You’ll Need:

2 Large Containers of Vanilla Yogurt: This depends on how much you want to make. 2 containers should serve 3-4 people. Obviously you can use more. You can also use plain yogurt but I wouldn’t use other flavors. It will change the recipe completely.

1 bag of vanilla yogurt chips: I really like Nestle’s version. It’s readily available and it has a subtle flavor.

Assorted fruits: I always use strawberries, blueberries, bananas and apples but my relative would sometimes throw in tangerines which were quite tasty.

A Large Bowl

All you do is combine the ingredients and let it chill for a bit in the fridge. That’s it! This is a great way to get kids to eat yogurt instead of ice cream because it looks colorful and fun. It’s also a quick idea for last minute guests or occasions. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

