Clean Slate

22 Apr

Lately my classic combination skin and I have not been on the best of terms. It doesn’t work well with stress and it still thinks it is winter (dryness anyone?). Skincare is simple science for the very few who have true oily or dry skin. Everything is labeled appropriately for these lucky few. Even oil-free is code for “dry skin stay away,Β  all of the oily come on board.”

I was never this lucky. My skincare routine is a reality of trial and error; a smorgasbord of products that address all of my ailments. I use a cream scrub every morning, followed by a moisturizer that is heavy enough to make a difference but light enough where I don’t look greasy (to be honest, I have not found this perfect moisturizer yet). Every so often, usually before an event, I’ll use my favorite mask on the planet, Boscia Luminizing Black Mask and at night, I cleanse with a gel cleanser, Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Cleanser. I avoid the night creams because they feel too heavy.

The million dollar question: Is it really all necessary?

I was excited to hear about Estee Lauder’s new product launch, Perfectly Clean. It seems well-organized, suitable yet effective and…clean.

Photo: Estee Lauder

Photo: Estee Lauder

There are two cleansers in this group. The first is theΒ  foam cleanser that moonlights as a purifying mask.Β  The second is a cream cleanser that doubles as a hydrating mask. That is a 4-in-2 for me and (lucky, lucky) 2-in-1 for the others. The other products include a gelee that’s a cleanser/exfoliate, another cleanser that is a toner/makeup- remover hybrid for those late nights, and a simple refining toner.

No crazy mix and matching here. This is a clean slate.

Purchase the collection here.

Leave a Reply

