Walk Like a Harlequin

16 Jun

Everyone defines 80’s style as neon, big hair and leggings. I tend to look at an era in it’s entirety. Sometimes it happens by accident.

In my college days, I was working across the street from Bryant Park for a major contemporary brand. I was walking to work when I stopped to look through some jewelery at a random stand and found a “flapper” pin. It was actually more like a harlequin face. She had a purple turban and winged out eyeliner. The man wanted a $1 for it (we settled on the grand sum of .75 cents), and off I went.

That pin changed the whole look of a bag that I literally wore to shreads. It was a slouchy leather pebbled black satchel with gold hardware. The pin transformed it from an everyday satchel to a vintage gyspy bag.

I became more and more inspired by these types of pins and the overall aesthetic of the look in general. Apparently, this was a very big trend back in the early 80’s. I even had a sticker book with a harlequin on the cover. Stationary extraordinaire Lisa Frank created halequin stickers. I started strolling through Etsy. Guess what? More harlequins. Harlequins even became relevant in the 00’s. You should google Miu Miu Spring 2008.

 

Here are my favorite harlequin things:

A look from Miu Miu's Spring 2008 show.

A look from Miu Miu’s Spring 2008 show.

A pin very similar to the one I own (unfortunately, do not know which handbag it's in at the moment).Pin, $6, Etsy

A pin very similar to the one I own (unfortunately, do not know which handbag it’s in at the moment).Pin, $6, Etsy

Miu Miu Campaign featuring Kirsten Dunst, 2008.

Miu Miu Campaign featuring Kirsten Dunst, 2008.

Very cool vintage necklace, $15, Etsy

Very cool vintage necklace, $15, Etsy

 

 

 

Vintage dress, $50, Etsy

Vintage dress, $50, Etsy

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

